Avocado Toast 2 Ways

I don’t even know when avocados became ‘a thing’. I just know that recently, it feels like they’re no longer just merely a fruit, but are now a fashion statement and a benchmark of how social media savvy you are. It apparently seems you’re cool if you take pictures of fancy avocado toast and upload it onto Instagram, and if you wear avocado apparel and accessories . I’m a hardcore avocado lover, they taste amazing and I was eating them well before it was fashionable, but i do secretly love all the avo’ merchandise and once considered getting a half and half avocado necklace for me and my bestie from Etsy, (guilty pleasure). All that aside, it truly is a delicious fruit with so many amazing health benefits including:

  • High in protein
  • Contains many vitamins (K, E, B5, B6, C and A) and minerals (Magnesium, Copper, Iron, Zinc and more)
  • Loaded with healthy fatty acids and omega 3 (good for your heart, skin and hair)

There is so much more avocados have to offer nutritionally, but I don’t want to make this post too long. Below are two of my favourite avocado toast recipes- one vegan and one non vegan. There are so many combinations out there but these have got to be my go to recipes when I’m craving avo’ for breakfast.

Avocado Egg Muffin

A while ago this was basically my healthy take on a McDonalds Egg McMuffin and now the thought of an actual McDonalds breakfast makes me sick. I basically cook a sunny side up egg in a little olive oil, salt and pepper. Whilst its cooking I toast a wholemeal english muffin and slice some avocado. I put the avo’ on one side and the egg on the other, sprinkle with chilli flakes and put the muffin together. Thats it, simple. You can add a little cheese or butter but I tend to skip it out if I’m trying to be healthier (jokes I always put cheese in, who can survive without cheese?)

20170423_173532.png
My egg and avocado egg muffin..

Avocado, Hummus and Mushroom Toast 

So this one is one for the Vegans. It’s dairy and meat free and honestly the most delicious one out of the two. Put a little oil in a pan and cook up sliced baby button mushrooms with some garlic powder and a pinch of salt/pepper. I usually add a little sweetcorn in because I LOVE it in everything but you can add whatever (bell peppers/chickpeas etc). Whilst that’s happening, toast your choice of bread- I of course use wholemeal and spread hummus onto one side. Onto the other slice or mash avocado and when the mushrooms are done layer them on top of the avocado. You can eat it as a sandwich or an open sandwich, however you choose. Its delicious either way.

IMG_20170412_113059_993.jpg
My vegan avocado toast option.

I hope you guys enjoyed reading this and if you have any of your own versions of this delicious dish let me know!

Love, Mehreen

xxx

Author: findthebalance

Hi guys :) I'm Mehreen (my friends call me mez). Im 22 years old and since I was 14/15 I have wanted to blog but never had the courage. I consider myself quite creative, I love to write and honestly I LOVE to talk! Ask anyone who knows me, I am that dramatic 'her stories never end' friend. Another thing I am passionate about is becoming a healthier happier person every day. My blog will focus mainly on wholesome food and recipes, general posts regarding both physical health and mental wellbeing and some (natural) beauty and skincare. If i'm feeling like a typical girl there may be some fashion thrown in there! Feel free to interact with me guys, I'm friendly I promise. Love, Mehreen xxxx

2 thoughts on “Avocado Toast 2 Ways”

Leave a Reply

